Hurry Up and Ice My Cake!

11 Apr

There have been a few times in which I skipped recipes because they fit into one of two categories: 1) Repeats (I can only make so many batches of salad dressing or mayo), or 2) Frosting (I can only make so many batches of frosting without having a corresponding cake to ice).  This was a similar situation; I had a cake and it said “ice as you wish” and I had not done a particular icing from the week before.  Perfect!

Well let me just say that this was an interesting go at a cake!  I was doing pretty well until I went to pour the mixture into the cake pans.  I had forgotten the baking powder!  So I quickly stopped pouring and returned the mix to the bowls, added the powder and then poured into the waiting cake pans.  The end result was a cake no more than an inch high.  Now, did it not rise because I added the baking powder at the wrong time, or because that’s how it’s supposed to look?  I have no clue.  What I do know it that the cake was perfectly complemented by the random frosting I decided to use.  It was sugary sweet (in a not-so-coma-inducing kind of way) and the cake was light a buttery…the perfect pair!

I hope you enjoy it as much as we did (and the hubs’ work buddies!).

Hurry Up Cake with Penuche Icing

  • 2 cups sifted Swan’s Down cake flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1.25 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup milk (minus 2 TBSP)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs

With butter at room temperature, line bottoms of two, deep 8″ layer pans with grease.  Preheat oven to 375*; sift flour once before measuring.  Mix by sifting flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar.  In another bowl, put butter and mix at low speed until softened; sift in dry ingredients; add milk and vanilla; beat on low speed for 2 minutes.  Now add eggs and beat 1 minute longer (scraping bowl frequently during mixing and scraping beaters between periods).  Turn batter into pans; bake at 375* for 25 minutes (or until done).  Frost as desired (see recipe below). 

*ICING*

  • 1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 TBSP corn syrup
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Combine everything except vanilla, in a medium saucepan; while stirring constantly, bring slowly to a full rolling boil on high heat; switch to a medium heat and continue to boil for 1 minute.  Cool until lukewarm (112* to 115*).  Add vanilla; beat (at medium speed) until mixture is thick enough to spread.  Note: makes enough frosting to cover tops of two 8″ layers, or top of 12x8x2 cake.

I have a small round and a small square, so I made those.

The icing just ran down the sides of the cake and was amazing.  I also made a home made ice-cream that I enjoyed with this…mostly.  I used a lower fat milk and it froze too hard.  It got tossed the next day when I couldn’t scoop any of the ice-cream out!

 

Grandma’s Notes:(from cake)4/8/95- The one act play from THS went to Nacogdoches and placed 1st; we will now go to regional in Kilgore in 2 weeks.  Zach got all star player for the whole thing.  THANK YOU LORD FOR WATCHING OVER ME.  SHOW ME HOW TO HELP SOMEONE TODAY.  (from icing) 4/1/98- Mailed April’s birthday card for the 3rd and worked on tatting.  4/5/98- Barry, Haley, and Braden Monroe, and Marcus and Taylor were at church; all ate with Barbara.  Haley and I walked down the driveway; admired the beautiful wisteria, azaleas, and irises.  THANK YOU LORD FOR LEADING AND HELPING.  HELP ME TO SEE NEEDS AND HOW TO HELP.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

