Image

Dairy free, egg free, no junk added ice cream

1 Feb

So, I’ve done a lot of reading and researching and decided that I’m changing up how I eat. Since the main issue I’ve had has been with dairy, I knew I’d needed to figure out how to change recipes and my usual go-to snacks (I LOVE me some queso)!

I am an over-ripe banana hoarder. We buy them, all nice and yellow, only to forget about them and watch them all but peel themselves off the banana hook (although I have been standing next to the kitchen counter when one decided to peel…creepy). They then get tossed into the freezer where they await their fate: bread, smoothie, and the pièce de résistance ICE CREAM.

That was tonight’s challenge, which I gladly accepted! The picture below is all I had left after I realized I should have taken the picture at the beginning.

Oh well.

Amber’s Pb & Cocoa Ice “Cream”
• 2 frozen bananas peeled
• 1-2 TBSP peanut butter
• 1/4 to 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk ( mine is unsweetened)
• 1 tsp cocoa powder
• 1 short squirt/dash/splash agave nectar

Throw everything in the blender and mix until smooth. The variance in milk depends on how much you need to keep the mixture moving in the blender. I then poured it into a Tupperware container and plopped it into the freezer for about a hour-and-one-half hour. After an hour, or so, I took it out and stirred it (the edges freeze quicker). I added pecans to top it, but you don’t need anything!

20130201-213138.jpg

Enjoy, and let me know how yours turns out!

One Response to “Dairy free, egg free, no junk added ice cream”

  1. Isabel February 1, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

    Yum! I love making ice cream with frozen bananas. Sometimes I blend the bananas with frozen berries (strawberries, raspberries) to make a fruity ice cream. I can’t wait until raspberries are in season!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

