A shopping we will go…

30 Dec

I think I’ve been lulled into a false sense of security.  My shopping list for week one is uncharacteristically short. However, I do only have two days of recipes to try.  The first day being New Year’s day and I’ve got two written recipes and two “note-mentioned” ones.  Of course one of the first concoctions is for a canned mixture!  I like to jump in to the pool with both feet and in the deep end!  However, once I have the canning supplies, I will really only have to replace seals and jars of those I give away.

 

Now for the list.  This is not inclusive of all recipe ingredients, but rather what I don’t already have on hand.

  • pineapple
  • mandarin oranges
  • peach pie filling
  • bananas
  • maraschino cherries
  • avocados
  • jalapeno
  • tomato
  • cilantro
  • onion
  • 3# of pears
  • lime
  • sugar (I usually have enough on hand, but this one calls for 5 cups!  Better get more)
  • Canning supplies: jars with lids and seals, jar tongs, boiling rack (maybe)

 

I bet you can guess one of the recipes…the other two are a bit more hidden.  Although I will say that one comes from the Appetizers/Beverages section; the other from the This & That section.  Here we go!

 

2 Responses to “A shopping we will go…”

  1. Katie Bell December 30, 2011 at 4:25 am #

    I’m very curious to see the menu. I am so excited for you to be doing this project as I have always loved carrying on traditions and recipes from my grandma and great-grandma.

    • hort7830 December 30, 2011 at 4:51 am #

      I haven’t decided if I want to reveal the recipes beforehand or keep a little mystery to it. I figure the shopping lists will be a good teaser. 🙂

Leave a Reply

