Pear Honey

31 Dec

Let me just say how awesome the trips to the stores were today!  Knowing that I was embarking on unmarked territory in the Horton-Miller kitchen was the coolest feeling ever.  I even looked forward to driving to the south end of the county in order to get canning jars.  No, Walmart doesn’t have them (they are seasonal here), Hobby Lobby is a solid 45 minutes away, and I enjoy going to Ace Hardware.  In fact, I had not been to one since moving from Texas!

So…about the shopping…When I picked out my Ball jars, I knew that many of the future recipes call for quart sized ones.  So, that’s what I got today.  Although, in retrospect, I should have opted for the pint or jam/jelly jars to spread this recipe out farther.  No biggie.  You live and you learn.  As for the produce and other ingredients, I chose to get them at Publix because of the variety and freshness.

Pretty, huh?  As the process progressed, the concoction became a beautiful amber-honey color.  From left to right you see the raw ingredients, pears and pineapple with lime zest, sugar added, & on the heat

Oh, and as a side note, to the novice canners of the world: I made the mistake of sterilizing my jars in the dishwasher and not timing the cooking and drying very well.  So, I had to call for reinforcements to come get the jars out, just as they were going into the “dry” cycle of the dishwasher.  No biggie though, hubby grabbed the jars and put them on the counter (on a towel) and I poured, very carefully, the hot liquid into a 4-cup Measuring cup and then into the jars.

I ended up with 2 1/2 quarts of THIS:

I’m thinking about finding a recipe for some good, old-fashioned biscuits to pour this over…perhaps some vanilla bean ice cream instead.  All I know is that come January 1st (the date of the recipe)…someone is going to have something yummy in their tummy!  Stay tuned for the accompanying recipe for New Year’s Day!

2 Responses to “Pear Honey”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gotta Get Movin’ | Grandma's Kitchen - September 9, 2013

    […] you want to know what I’m planning on making, there are two recipes I have in mind: 1) Pear Honey and 2) Pickled Squash (a new one for […]

  2. Thank you, thankyouverymuch | Grandma's Kitchen - September 26, 2013

    […] easy to make and I did it first since it took the longest.  You can find the pear honey post here.  I’ll share the pickles recipe because I think canning/preserving is a lost art (though […]

Leave a Reply

