Witty Marmalade

12 Jan

“Wit ought to be a glorious treat like caviar; never spread it about like marmalade.”Noel Coward

This quick recipe was concocted by myself and an older patient of mine.  She was talking about a marmalade she made with calamondins.  If you have never seen or heard of them, they are little, tiny orange-like citrus fruits known for a sweet peel and sour meat.  So sour, in fact, I consider it the “War Head” of the citrus world…you know, those little round sour candies that make you salivate like Pavlov’s dogs?!

Anyway, I figured I would apply what little canning knowledge I have at this point and try to “cook down” the fruits in an effort to enjoy them at a later date.  Here’s the result:

Calamondin preserves?

I’m not really sure what the final product will be like: conserve, jam, marmalade, etc.  The flavor (off the spoon) is initially sweet with a tart/bitter/sour hind-note.  The orange flavor is amazing (as I am typing, the seal just “popped”) and the color is even more beautiful.  I’m interested to see how much this sets up and thickens.  I know that there is a setting point for jams, but I’m not that far in my experience yet.  But, I’m sure the fruit pieces will be good with biscuits or toast and I might throw the liquid over chicken or pork.  We’ll see…

 

Stay tuned for Grandma’s next recipe later this evening: Strawberry Cake!  YUM!

Leave a Reply

