Let’s Hash it Out

18 Jan

OK, so what do you think of when you hear the term “hash?”… corned beef, a football field, illicit substances? Probably NOT a fruit salad, huh? Well, this hash is “heavenly” as the title states: Heavenly Hash.

Although, I think there could be a few tweaks to the recipe for it to be as supernatural and celestial as its name says. This recipe calls for a #2 can of pineapple tidbits. You may be thinking, “what’s a #2 can?” Believe me, I did the same thing. Our grandparents, many times, referred to cans of beans, fruits, and veggies by numbers.  I found a great site HERE that helps with the conversions of “number” cans to current used amounts.

Back to the Hash.  I didn’t even have the equivalent amount of pineapple that it called for and upon tasting it, I feel it was too much pineapple.  You know how some fruits have that way of kind of burning your mouth when you eat too much?  Pineapple does that too me.  I love the flavor, but too much of a good thing can be bad.  Anyway, I think maybe half the amount of pineapple would suffice.

I was taken aback when it also called fro 3 tablespoons of powdered sugar.  I thought it would be way too sweet.  But after waiting the allotted 3 hours in the fridge, it was the right amount of sweet.  Had I cut the pineapple, it might have been even better.

Overall the flavors were good.  This one even calls for some rum.  I asked my dad if he remembered this recipe.  He said he never remembers Grandma having any rum in the house, but also thinks that she might have just drank the rum (to put up with him).  Ha!

Heavenly Hash

 

Grandma’s Notes: 1/17/91- Daryle, Becky, and Tiffany LaGrone, and Joe and Joy White came and visited after supper, brought a delicious spice cake and a very pleasant hour of visiting.  We cut the cake and had cold drinks to go with it.  THANK YOU LORD FOR HAVING A REASON TO SMILE.  I’M ON MY WAY TO HEAVEN.

 

 

Leave a Reply

