Easy Skillet Apple Pie

22 Jan

This has got to be my, hands down, favorite pie recipe in a LONG time.  For those of you who know me, my buttermilk pie is “purt-neer” good (That’s a southern sayin’ my dad likes to use).  This pie, however is good AND it’s easy, just like the name says.

And even though I really haven’t shared recipes before, I think I will share this one.  Credit goes to my Aunt Barbara.  This one is all hers! Before I divulge the goods, I’ll tell you about my experience making this.  When I planned this week’s menu, I realized I did not have the one thing needed to complete it: a cast-iron skillet.  That’s right, I owned no “real” skillets.  So when at Target this last week, I found a Lodge brand skillet for a fairly decent price (I think).  It’s been sitting on my counter all week; waiting for tonight!

So, yesterday, I’m talking about the recipe with some patients when one of them says that she can’t use a cast-iron skillet on her stove.  I asked why..,because she has a flat-top range and cast iron is NOT to be used on them…OOPS!  That’s what I have.  Therefore, I had to take one extra step at the beginning.  Instead of cooking the brown sugar and butter in the skillet, I just used an appropriate pan then transferred the concoction to the iron (preheated in a 350 degree oven).  It seemed to work just fine and the resulting pie is divine!

Easy Skillet Apple Pie

  • 2# Granny Smith Apples
  • 2# Braeburn, or red delicious
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup + 2 TBSP granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 package refrigerated piecrusts
  • 1 egg white

Preheat oven to 350*,  Peel apples and cut into 1/2″ thick wedges.  Toss apples with cinnamon and 3/4 cup sugar.  Melt butter in a 10″ cast-iron skillet over medium heat.  Add brown sugar and cook, stirring constantly, until sugar is dissolved.  Remove from heat and place 1 pie-crust in skillet on top of brown sugar mixture.  Spoon apple mixture over pie crust and top with remaining crust.  Whisk egg white until foamy.  Brush top of pie with egg white; sprinkle with 2 TBSP sugar. Cut 4-5 slits in top for steam to escape.  Bake for 1 hour.  If it appears to not be done yet, bake for 10 more minutes, shielding with foil to prevent over browning.

*make sure you put a pan under the skillet to catch any “overflow” of pie liquid as it bakes!

 

Easy Skillet Apple Pie

 

Hot out of the oven!

 

Note: Lance Horton graduated from Texas A&M University January 21, 1967.  He worked in farm equipment design, irrigation, and kaolin clay mining; then 21 years as a school teacher before retiring in 2004.  He also baled hay during summers while he taught school.

 

The other recipe was for a second Heavenly Hash.  Very briefly, I liked this one much more than the first.  There was less pineapple and more marshmallows, and included cherries.  I does, however, call for whipped cream.  While you could choose whatever kind of whipped cream you want, I know that Grandma would have use Cool Whip.  I NEVER buy the stuff because it’s made with trans-fats.  But I want to keep as true to the original recipes as I can, so I got the CW.  It actually tasted great! It could stand to have fewer marshmallows and I had walnuts, but pecans would have been fine too.

It was also very pretty.  The cherries are key!  I usually drain and rinse mine…too sweet otherwise.

Heavenly Hash II

 

Grandma’s Notes: 1/18/91- Today is Cheryl’s birthday.  Worked on rug.  Zach came.  Later George came and visited a while. 1/21/91- worked on rug; raveled it out.  It wouldn’t lay flat; group came by gathering things for a scavenger hunt.  I AM SO GLAD YOU HAVE FORGIVEN ME.  MAY I ALWAYS HAVE A FORGIVING HEART.

Leave a Reply

