Top me once, shame on – shame on you. Top me – you can’t get topped again…

5 Feb

OK, so this really has nothing to do with the “fool me once…twice” quote from George Dubya, but the cake does get topped twice…no foolin’!

First off, I do not really like coconut.  I mean this overly sweetened processed stuff found in most recipes and candies.  However, this recipe prompted me to make my first EVER purchase of sweetened coconut flakes…I’m glad I did!

Top Me Twice Cake

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3.5 oz crushed pineapple, undrained (the smallest can to purchase is 8 oz, I used 1/2)

Grease a 12×8 pan. Combine sugar, vanilla, and eggs in a large bowl.  Beat 2 minutes on medium speed.  At low speed add flour, salt, soda, and pineapple.  Mix 1 minute and pour into pan. Sprinkle with topping mixture (see below).  Bake for 40-45 minutes in 350* oven.  In the last 5 minutes, prepare sauce and pour over warm cake (sauce below).

Top for cake

  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Mix and add to top of cake before baking.

Sauce for Top me Twice Cake

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup light cream (I used light whipping cream)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Mix all sauce ingredients and pout over cake in last 5-10 minutes of baking while still in oven.

 

Top Me Twice

My serving

 

Grandma’s Notes- 2/8/96- Played bridge; picked up cart of fertilizer from pasture; dug around Easter lilies & fertilized them.  2/10/96- Lance called; boys won their game last night. Cheryl called; wants me to come when George’s family comes.  Marcus came.  Took valentines to children.  THANK YOU LORD FOR BEING ABLE TO SPREAD SUNSHINE.  HELP ME WEED OUT UNKIND WORDS.

One Response to “Top me once, shame on – shame on you. Top me – you can’t get topped again…”

  1. fretspan February 6, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    mmmmmm…. :]

Leave a Reply

