Strawberry pie Recipe!

11 Feb

Update…the sauerkraut was a hit.  It was not as “sour” as expected, but it went really well on our Hebrew National All-Beef Franks!

 

So, what goes best with hot dogs? Strawberry pie, of course.  So, I pulled out the cookbook and began to mix a syrupy concoction of sugar, water, corn syrup, & corn starch.  Well, as soon as the pot hit the heat, I noticed small back dots in the mixture…ANTS!  They had taken over my box of corn starch.  So, I sent the hubs to Winn-Dixie to get more.

Take Two: I mixed everything to the T.  Even when I cooked it “over low heat, stirring constantly” the mix never got clear and really didn’t thicken much.  So, I turned up the heat and tried that…NADA!  I still took the pot from the heat and added jello (strawberry, of course).  I then placed it on the counter to cool.  When it had cooled, it tasted like a knock-off, generic, over-the-counter, crappy COUGH SYRUP!!!  What the…

Third time’s the charm: I did a quick Bing search for fresh strawberry pie (while on the phone with my mom, who hadn’t made a pie like this in YEARS). I found a great site called Brown Eyed Baker and her Fresh Strawberry Pie recipe.  THANK YOU JESUS!  I was able to use most of Grandma’s and a bit of BEB’s to make my own pie.  Want the recipe?!

Amber’s Fresh Strawberry Pie

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 TBSP light corn syrup
  • 2 TBSP corn starch
  • 2 pints fresh strawberries, hulled and cut in half
  • 6 pureed fresh strawberries (take from above pints)
  • 1 pastry crust
  • Whipped Cream (Redi Whip, of course)

Bake empty piecrust according to crust instructions and cool.  Combine sugar, syrup, starch, and puree in a sauce pan on med-hi heat.  Dissolve all ingredients and bring to a boil, boiling for 2 minutes.  Take mixture from heat and transfer to a large bowl.  Cool to room temperature (BE PATIENT!!!).  Once cooled, add strawberries to syrup and mix well.  Pour into cooled pie crust and refrigerate for at least an hour and a half.  Serve with whipped cream.

MY Strawberry Pie

My helper, helps again

Grandma’s Notes: 2/14/97- Someone left a vase of long stem red roses on my table with no note.  THANK YOU JESUS.  2/23/97- Frank called about Easter plans.  3/6/97- Lance cleaned out my carport; I bought a new vacuum and George assembled it.  LORD, HELP ME TO SEE OTHERS IN THE PATIENCE YOU WITH THEM TO OBTAIN AND HELP THEM TO BE THAT PERSON.

 

Oh, and on another note…

My New $6.99 Grater

One Response to “Strawberry pie Recipe!”

  1. fretspanf February 12, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

    Pie looks dee-li-she-us!

Leave a Reply

