I want to turn the whole thing upside down…

16 Feb

UPSIDE DOWN CAKE and SLOPPY JOES

Ok, so this week has been a bit slower, recipe-wise, but good anyway.  The cooking began with an EASY Sloppy Joe recipe:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 cup BBQ sauce
  • 1/3 cup minced onion (or 1/8 cup dried onion)
  • Velveeta cheese
  • Hamburger buns (we used slider size)

Brown the meat, add onions and BBQ sauce, reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes.  Broil top half of bun with a slice of cheese until just melted.  Add meat to bun and serve. *We ate it so quickly, I didn’t get a picture*

 

Last night, I made a great cake and it’s pretty easy.  As I’ve said before, my grandmother liked shortening, butter, lard, oleo, etc., etc.  However, I soon figured out that if I made everything to exact standards, I would soon weigh 300 pounds.  So, I have begun substituting in some of the mixes.  This recipe called for shortening, I used margarine.  It also called for apricots, I used peaches (hubby doesn’t like apricots)

Enjoy!

Upside down Cake

  • 1.25 cups sifted cake flour
  • 1.75 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • **sift these together**
  • 1/3 cup margarine
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 2 TBSP melted butter
  • 4 pineapple slices
  • 16 apricot halves (or 8 peach halves)
  • **ok, I fibbed, here it calls for 1 pint of peach slices, but since I subbed those for the apricots, I used Maraschino cherries*

Add margarine, egg, milk and vanilla to dry ingredients.  Mix for 3 minutes until well-blended and glossy.  Cover bottom of WELL-greased 8x8x2 pan with brown sugar and butter.  Arrange fruit in bottom of pan. Pour batter over fruit.  Bake at 350* for 35 to 40 minutes. Once cooled, flip onto large FLAT platter (I used a pie/cake carrier).

You KNOW you want some!

Grandmas Notes: (Sloppy Joes)- 2/14/92- Stopped by George’s shop left valentines for children; gave Lance’s family later.  At home; had a Valentine bouquet from George’s family by door.  2/15/92- Haley came; Anthony, Zach, & Ashley came.  Barbara picked up Haley; others spent the night.  Marcus came on tractor to get hay; visited awhile.  LORD HELP ME HAVE A SERVANT HEART.  THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP.

(Upside Down Cake)- 2/16/96- Beautiful day, 30* at 9:05.  Visited with Bea several times while with Frank.  Such a joy to be together again.  2/17/96- Haley came & sat & talked awhile.  Barbara came; Lance brought my mail.  George brought lawnmower.  2/19/96- A limb hit me in the eye; I sat awhile & found no one to take me to Dr.  Asked: LORD, PLEASE TAKE CARE OF ME.  Rested; picked up sticks.

 

Leave a Reply

