Beef & Veggie Soup

5 Mar

So, I made this a week ago Sunday, but just remembered I had not yet posted about it.  This soup is a good, hearty, anything goes kind of soup.  The basic ingredients are beef, tomato juice, Rotel tomatoes, onions, salt/pepper, chili powder and Worcestershire sauce.  This gives you the broth and meat.  The veggies are pretty much anything you want to add.  I put in carrots, potatoes (that I should have cut smaller), & corn.

After a couple days of soup, I got tired of it and strained out the meat and veggies (taking out the potatoes too).  I then mixed in cooked elbow macaroni, and a cup or so of shredded cheese.  I then baked it for a while to heat it through and make the cheese melt.  Think hamburger helper but better.  I didn’t get a picture of that though.  But, I think you get the idea.

 

Note: Barry and Haley Monroe live in the house where her grandma, Gladys, lived all her life from the age of ten.  It is also the house pictured on the front cover of the cookbook.

Leave a Reply

