Don’t forget the salt!

28 Mar

When you hear the words “whole wheat muffins,” what comes to mind?  A relaxing Sunday brunch, something healthy and tasty, or all of the above?  I was really surprised to add green onions to my grocery list this week.  I didn’t remember which recipe called for it until I started organizing everything once I got home.  Then I saw it was for the muffins.  “OK, I’ll bite,” I told myself.  They turned out really well, although I did forget to add a tsp of salt, and you could really tell.  The flavor was there, but the accent was missing.  However, I did serve them with yellow rice and shrimp etouffe (recipe below), so the blandness was good in contrast to the spicy cayenne seasonings.

I put the remaining muffins in the freezer to save for chicken and dressing.  That way I won’t have to make cornbread, I can just use them!

 

Shrimp Etouffe

  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 2 medium onions chopped (I used only 1)
  • 1/2 chopped bell pepper (I used a whole red pepper)
  • tsp garlic powder
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 TBSP parsley flakes
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1 lb cooked, peeled, de-tailed shrimp

Melt butter in heavy saucepan and saute onions and pepper.  Add tomatoes, garlic, and simmer covered for 5 minutes.  Add remaining ingredients and cook 5 minutes after it returns to a boil.  Serve over rice.

Note: Haley Monroe always shared birthday dinners and parties with Grandma because their birthdays were one day apart.

Grandma’s Notes: 3/19/94- Dick Templin disked my garden sometime.  I cut and pieced quilt pieces; went to church; good sermon.  LORD, HELP ME PATTERN MY LIFE AFTER YOU, SO THAT I MAY BE MORE LIKE YOU EVERY DAY.  THANK YOU JESUS.

Leave a Reply

