Inconceivable!

28 Mar

“I do not think that word means what you think it means…”

 

This pie: “Impossible Pie” really did play with my mind.  I happily lined up all ingredients, preheated the oven, and got out my pie pan.  I then realized I had not brought my pie crust to room temperature.  Not to worry, this recipe calls for NO CRUST!  You read that correctly, no crust is harmed in the making of this impossibility of a pie!

I was pretty leery of making a pie with no crust, and rightfully so.  Some of my best concoctions are pies: with crust!  But, being the good little blogger I am, I conceded and made the pie as directed:

Impossible Pie

  • 1/2 cup self-rising flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 1.75 cups sugar
  • 7 oz coconut (a small bag)
  • 1/2 stick butter softened (I used a whole stick because I read it as 1/2 cup)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Mix all ingredients and bake in 10-in pie pan at 325* for 50-55 minutes, or until done.

I cut a piece out while it was still hot, but it still kept it’s shape really well.  It went to work with the hubs today and all he brought back was an empty pan, along with the empty dish from the chocolate and marshmallow cake from two nights ago.  If you don’t like the texture of coconut, this will not be a favorite of yours.  You could, however, probably half the amount of coconut and you would be fine.  I don’t really like the texture, but ate a full piece just before bed…it was uh-mazing!

 

Grandma’s Notes: 3/19/97- it is 48* at 8:10.  Went to George and Rosalyn’s (her brother).  After lunch, visited with Ruth Templin at the hospital; on to Nursing Home; visited four (named) others; ran out of time before visiting others I wanted to see.  HELP ME LIVE EVERY DAY AS AN AMBASSADOR FOR YOU LORD.  I HAVE NO WAY OF KNOWING WHAT DAY IS MY LAST.

Leave a Reply

