Jell-o Took their recipe from Grandma!

31 Mar

When Grandma’s recipes call for gelatin or pudding, I am always interested in the recipes on the sides of the boxes.  This time was no exception.  I have NEVER used pistachio pudding, although I enjoy the nuts.  Imagine my surprise when I saw this following:

A very familiar recipe

I then compared it to Grandma’s recipe:

Pistachio Salad

  • 1 pkg pistachio instant pudding/pie filling
  • 1 (#2) can of crushed pineapple, undrained
  • 1 lg carton of cool whip
  • 1 cup mini marshmallows
  • 1 cup chopped nuts

Mix all ingredients well.  Makes a good salad or can be put in parfait glasses and served as a dessert.

So, instead of thinking Grandma enjoyed this recipe so much she wrote it down for later use, I have to believe that Jell-o somehow got her recipe and made it into their “Watergate Salad.”  Right?  Right?

*crickets chirping*

Nevertheless, this is a tasty treat.  As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not really a cool whip fan, but in mixes like this it’s the best option for a good smooth consistency.  I think I’ve also said how much I lie pineapple but it can sometimes make your mouth raw (lots of acid in it), so I used an 8 oz can of pineapple instead of a 20oz can…that’s WAY too much pineapple for my taste!

Oh, and extra nuts and a couple maraschino  cherries never hurt either!

Grandma’s Notes: 3/23/91- Made tuna sandwiches; baked a cherry pie to carry to church tonight; singing after supper.  the singing was good.  3/24/91- They had the Easter program this morning.  Lich Pilkington brought me a pink carnation arrangement; went to church tonight.  LORD, YOUR SACRIFICE IS BEYOND MY COMPREHENSION.  THANK YOU FOR IT THAT I MAY GROW IN YOUR LOVE.

Leave a Reply

