Dinner for Two

2 Apr

Having specific recipes every week makes it so much easier to shop and plan upcoming meals. One thing I don’t always take into consideration, however, is my husband’s work schedule.  Most nights he works until 8pm, making it difficult to keep dinner warm or to even find the motivation to cook at all.  This evening’s meal, though, proved not only easy but also provided no leftovers (meaning no waste later when the leftovers aren’t consumed).  The end result was to be for two, but it was just enough for one.  I’m guessing this is because I didn’t have a salad or veggies to go along with it.  I’m not complaining though. 🙂

Again, I altered this recipe a bit to cater to the tastes of my husband and son.  However, the hubs is out of town and the son really doesn’t like tuna.  So, I really could have made it according to the directions.

Tuna Casserole (For Two)

  • 1 can tuna
  • 1 can peas
  • 1.25 oz potato or corn chips (I used Fritos)
  • 1/2 cup cream of mushroom soup mixed with 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 TBSP margarine or butter
  • Pinch of salt

Using small casserole bowl, layer ingredients as listed.  Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until bubbly.

Dinner for Two

I didn’t have cream of mushroom, so I used cream of chicken.  I also omitted the peas (for hubby’s taste).  I found this to be a delicious and EASY recipe.  I’m pretty sure you have most of these ingredients in your pantry.  You could easily substitute green beans for the peas.  I think chopped asparagus would be good too.

 

Grandma’s Notes: 4/17/93- Walked, picked up trash.  Haley & Barbara came.  Haley mowed.  I went to Lance’s; saw Haley’s newly decorated room; Barbara gave me a bag of quilt scraps.  4/20/93- Went to AARP sing-a-long w/nursing home w/Ansteads.  4/21/93- Marcus snacked after school; walked home.  THANK YOU LORD THAT YOU DRAW ME TO YOU WHEN I AM INCLINED TO DRIFT AWAY.

Leave a Reply

