I Yam what I Yam

5 Apr

OK, so I really need to read and then reread recipes before completing them.  When making these muffins I read the recipe to determine what I needed, from the spice cabinet, and when I saw I was running low on cinnamon (which needed to be in the mix and on top) I knew I needed to add it to my shopping list for next week.  I did not, however, remember to add it to the top of the muffins before baking them…ARGH!

Anyway, if you remember a post of mine a few weeks back (think: Yam Molasses Cookies) you know that I was using a veggie peeler to “grate” my sweet potatoes.  This time, I just bought canned yams (in syrup).  Not only did I save cooking time, it was WAY easier to mash them up.  I also figured out one of the reasons I really don’t like the sweet tuber…they STINK!  I had a very hard time stomaching the scent of mashed yams and liken it to how I felt a few times when I was pregnant with my son and the lady next to me in choir wore too much horrid perfume.  But, I digress.

The muffins cooked well, although I am still having trouble keeping the “darker” recipes from browning too much when baking.  I also think there are some very serious issues with baking times and temperatures.  This one called for 425* for 35 minutes!  I don’t know about you, but I have never had to bake a muffin longer than 15-17 minutes at any temperature.  So, I watching these for the first 15 and they were more than done.  After taking them out, I saw the darker bottoms, but the tops were perfectly golden.  I then decided that I would cut it back to 325* the next time I make them.  I would also remember to sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on top.  The final result is mildly sweet with little spice noted.  Perhaps pumpkin pie spice would be good too.

Yam Muffins

  • 1.75 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 TBSP baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 1.5 cups mashed yams
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup margarine or butter
  • extra cinnamon and sugar for top of mixture

Combine first 6 ingredients.  Make a well in the center of mixture.  Combine eggs, yams, milk and butter.  Add to dry ingredients, stirring until just moistened (the mix is very thick).  Spoon into 18 greased muffin tins.  Sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon mixture.  Bake at 425* for 35 minutes.

You can see the extra browning on the bottom of the muffins…I just can keep them from doing that.  Suggestions?

 

Grandma’s Notes: 4/3/94- April Horton’s 9th birthday; Easter services.  Frank’s family left “hanging” clothes home.  Amber and Haley went & bought a dress.  Cheryl Horton borrow from Barbara; April from Ashley; Frank from George; all went to church.  4/19/94- LORD, LET MY WORDS BE WORDS OF COMFORT & COURAGE; NEVER WORDS TO DISCOURAGE.  LET THEM GLORIFY YOU.

Leave a Reply

