Hash it out…

9 Apr

I am a HUGE proponent of all-in-one dishes.  They are easy to cook, usually require a few steps, and are great to reheat for lunches the next day.  This one was no exception.  What’s not to like about ground beef, pasta, onions, tomatoes, and chili powder?!  This is also a great meal that can be altered based on your family’s likes and tastes.  My husband is not a big tomato fan, so next time I might just cut the amount in half.  I also made the mistake of using canned tomatoes (I know, I know, use fresh).  I am a huge proponent of fresh fruits and veggies, but only in season.  So, I will buy canned or frozen.  Anyway…I didn’t really think about the canned tomatoes until I went to take the first bite and realized the mix was a little more salty that I would normally like.  When my grandma would use fresh tomatoes, she would most likely add a pinch (or so) of salt.  Since the recipe called for salt, however, and I added it.

In the end, I would have made this with elbow macaroni because it’s super difficult to measure “1 cup” of uncooked spaghetti.  Although when try to do so, my son had fun picking up the pieces of pasta that would fly across the kitchen. 🙂  In the end, my husband liked the meal and found a way to kick it up, when he had it for leftovers, by adding a sweet chili sauce and a little bit of red pepper flakes.  Whatever works!

Texas Hash

  • 2 medium onions
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 3 TBSP cooking oil
  • 1 lb ground steak/beef
  • 2 cups of tomatoes
  • 1 cup uncooked spaghetti (I think elbow macaroni would be best)
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Cook onions and celery in oil until golden.  Add meet and cook until redness leaves.  Add tomatoes, spaghetti, and seasonings.  Mix well.  Put into large casserole.  Cover and bake at 350* for 45 minutes.  *I started at 25-30 minutes and turned off the oven, leaving the dish inside.* Yield: 8 servings.

Texas Hash

Grandma’s notes: 4/1/93- Beautiful 50* at 7:15; read; Annie Bertha McDonald called.  Haley spent afternoon.  4/2/93- stopped by George’s.  Bessie Baldwin called.  4/3/93- Patched Zach’s pants.  Anthony & friend Bryan came & spent the night.  They played dominoes; I crocheted.  THANK YOU LORD FOR EVERYTHING.  LET MY HEART SHINE SO OTHERS CAN SEE YOU IN MY LIFE.

 

Leave a Reply

