Holy WOW! Recipes, Pintrest, and Fans!

19 Apr

So, I decided to just blog for once, instead of cooking and posting.  I know, you probably thought the title meant there was some sort of super-duper-fantastic recipe with your name on it.  Well, there isn’t.  That doesn’t mean there won’t be.  There just isn’t one today.

I did do a little bit of looking though, and this site has had over 2300 views!  As in two thousand, three hundred views!  And I know the recipe that put it over the top was the MARSHMALLOW ICING because of a little thing called: Pintrest.  I think Pintrest has to be one of the greatest site in a while.  I know some people think it’s just a bunch of folks showing off, but it is not…quite the opposite.  Remember the days of “bookmarking” a page to come back to later?  Or even marking a page as a “favorite?”  Well, I don’t know about you, but I almost never remember that I’ve marked something and then forget about it.  On Pintrest it is all out there for you to look at, ponder, and dream about trying/doing/sewing/cooking/etc.

I do hate it, though, when someone just finds a neat picture and “pins” it without directions or an actual link to a legit website.  I mean, wouldn’t it be nice to have a great idea to try WITH instructions?  I digress.  The site has been a great way to get people to the blog and experience some of Grandma’s recipes (even if they never actually try them).

With that said, I would like to offer up a contest, of sorts.  Since beginning this journey I have been keeping notes and thoughts in each of the cookbooks I was given.  I want to give one away!  This is how it will work…

  1. “Follow” this blog (that way I know you will be enjoying ALL the recipes have to offer)
  2. On this post, offer up a recipe that has been used in your family through the years.
  3. I will make attempt each recipe, offer their goods to unsuspecting friends, coworkers, and family members, in hopes to find the best submitted recipe .
  4. I’ll leave the comments open for submissions for a little while, so there are a good number of things to try!

So, share this with your friends, and get those recipes to me.  I would love to start blogging about things shared with me, as Grandma was a big proponent of the same!  IF you win you might just be this happy:

Leave a Reply

