Easy Baked Pears and Lemon Spice Sauce

23 Apr

So, this recipe was super easy and the end result could fool any vegetarian.  I made it and instead of letting the hubs take it to work I took it to work, for once!  My coworkers were impressed and thought the result looked like what I thought it looked like (just look at the picture).

Chicken or ???

When I took it out of the oven, I thought is resembled a baked chicken dish my mom would make (but with Total cereal).  Talk about messing with someone’s mind!

Baked Pears

  • 3 fresh pears
  • 1 cup crushed cornflakes
  • 1 TBSP butter

Peel and cut pears in half.   If hard, cook until tender.  Roll in cornflakes.  Place in buttered baking dish, cut side down.  Bake at 400* about 25 minutes.  Serve with Lemon Spice Sauce.

Lemon Spice Sauce

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 TBSP cornstarch
  • 1 cup fruit juice (I used apple)
  • 2 TBSP butter
  • 1.5 TBSP lemon juice
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg (I didn’t have any, used cinnamon)
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Mix sugar and cornstarch.  Add juice gradually.  Cook, stirring constantly until sauce in clear and slightly thickened.  Add butter, lemon juice, nutmeg, and salt.  Serve over hot baked fruit.

This was so good, and I couldn’t resist having a pear (even though we had just gone to DQ for ice cream).  I think it would be good with apples or peaches too.

 

Grandma’s notes: 4/20/96- Storm blew down part of shop, some siding from house, china berry tree, and crab apple tree; electricity off.  Lance, Haley, and Barbara came and cleared the driveway of limbs.  Power came back on Sunday.  THANK YOU THAT I AM NOT FEARFUL OF COMMON THINGS.  THANK YOU FOR BEING WITH ME IN TIME OF NEED.

Leave a Reply

