Jam Session

5 May

While enjoying my new-found love for the television show Glee, I realized I needed to get back on the cooking ball (so to speak).  I recently spent a few days in Boston, and was unable to cook while there.  I wish I had.  Boston is expensive to visit.  I could have easily made all the recipes I missed, just by not eating out.  But, no biggie.  Here I am…back at it!

 

This cake is really good.  I think that if I actually had the three layer pans it calls for, the end result would have been even better.  I made-do with what I have and it still tastes good!  I think I would omit the raisins and perhaps use fresh blackberries instead of nuts.  The recipe, as-is, though works fine.  The end result is just a little different than what I would expect.

Jam Cake (with Caramel Frosting)

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup blackberry jam (I used seedless)
  • 4 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (I didn’t have nutmeg, so I doubled this)
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tsp soda
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 cup nuts

Cream butter and sugar.  Beat eggs and jam.  Add to creamed mixture; sift flour, salt, and spices.  Mix buttermilk and soda.  Add alternately with flour mixture to the creamed  mixture.  Add raisins and nuts.  Pour into three 9-in layer pans.  Bake at 350 for about 25 minutes.  Once cooled, put together with caramel frosting.

before icing

caramel frosting

  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 TBSP butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Use two sauce pans.  Melt one cup of sugar in a small pan.  In a large pan, start the remainder of sugar and milk to cooking.  When sugar is melted, pour gradually into milk mixture, stirring constantly so as not to curdle.  Continue cooking until syrup forms a soft ball when tried in cold water.  Add butter and remove from fire.  Allow to cool until lukewarm.  Add vanilla and beat until creamy and of right consistency to spread on cake.

*Make sure you heat the milk and sugar enough to be close to the temperature of the other sugar.  Otherwise, when you add the sugar, it hardens instantly and sticks to your spoon/whisk.  When it is near the right temperature, the milk/sugar mix will bubble up when the sugar is added.  It then becomes a beautiful amber color.

Look at that!

 

Since I stole a piece from the corner, the icing took that space over.  Whomever gets those pieces near the corner will have a sweet treat!  I couldn’t resist cutting a piece for myself and I just took the icing a drizzled it over the cake.

Yum!

A little crumbly, but still delicious.  Also, the baking time needed to be almost 20 minutes longer, since I used one large pan.  The cake, overall was a bit drier than I would have liked.  However, the tops and sides were almost caramelized and were a great crunchy texture.

 

Grandma’s Notes: 5/5/95- The elders need to be examples to the younger couples.  Francis Moore brought a pineapple coconut pie and visited for a while; pie was so good.  Anthony and B.J. McCurdy won the tennis tournament in Nacogdoches.  THANK YOU LORD FOR MY EVERYDAY BLESSINGS.  HELP ME FOLLOW YOUR PLANS FOR ME.

One Response to “Jam Session”

  1. Eric May 6, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    The cake was delicious! I had two pieces. I like the raisins. The caramel frosting is amazing.

    Thanks,

    Eric

Leave a Reply

