This Pie is Pear-y Good!

19 May

So, let me reiterate that you I really need to read recipes thoroughly, prior to beginning.  I skimmed this recipe and knew I already had a pie crust left over from my buttermilk pie last week.  However, I then reread the ingredients AFTER I returned from the grocery store: DOUBLE crusts…blah!  Instead of having to go back to the store, I decided to just use the cast iron pan and just used the pie crust on top.  It worked out well and tasted good too!

For the sake of simplicity, I will give the recipe as written, but just keep in mind I used only one crust (on top).

Pear Pie

  • 3.5 Cups sliced pear
  • 3 TBSP flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg (I used clove, pumpkin pie spice, and cinnamon)
  • 1 TBSP lemon juice
  • grated rind of 1 lemon
  • 1 TBSP butter
  • 1 9″ pie crust <—-THIS is why I got tripped up!  USE TWO CRUSTS!
  • Mix flour, sugar, salt, & spices.  Add pears, lemon juice, grated lemon rind to mix.  Mix well.  Place one crust into pan and add pear mixture.  Dot top with butter.  Top with upper crust and bake in 425* oven for 25 minutes.

This would be great with a cinnamon cream or ice cream.

Grandma’s Notes: 5/15/97- Haley Monroe send an orchid corsage for mother’s day; ate lunch with Lance’s family.  Frank called.  Zach and a friend fixed the mow and mowed all.  Barry loaded all the old windows and hauled away.  5/23/97- Played bridge.  I went with Lance and Barbara to Zach Horton’s graduation.  PRAISE THE LORD THERE IS WORK TO DO.  LET ME BE PREPARED.

Leave a Reply

