You say tama, I say toma

19 May

Want an easy dip that is versatile enough to also be a sandwich spread, veggie dip or chip dip?  This is the dip for you.  It’s vegan/vegetarian/omnivore friendly too!  This is one of my cousin, Anthony’s, recipes.  Yum!

Tomatillo Avocado Dip

  • 1/3 lb tomatillos, husked, washed and quartered
  • 1/4 lb Serrano peppers, rinsed, stemmed, seeded, and halved (I did NOT add these)
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled (I used only one)
  • 1/2 cup minced onion
  • 1/2 cup lightly packed fresh cilantro (I forgot to get this at the store)
  • 1 firm-ripe avocado, peeled and diced
  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • 1 TBSP lime juice
  • dash of salt

In a blender or food processor, stir in rinsed tomatillos, peppers, garlic, onion, cilantro, and avocado until coarsely pureed; pour into a bowl.  Stir in olive oil; add lime juice and salt.

With the few ingredients I did manage to remember to get, this dip was so good and fresh!  I only had a bit with a few whole grain tortilla chips.  My step daughter then finished the rest.  I would recommend doubling tripling this recipe!

2 Responses to “You say tama, I say toma”

  1. januaryrowe May 19, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    This looks DELISH!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. There’s a Party In My Tummy… « Grandma's Kitchen - June 3, 2012

    […] I knew that wouldn’t be enough.  So, I decided to pick a few party foods from the cookbook: tomatillo avocado dip, Jamboree Dip (no. 2), Pretzel jello salad, Banana Punch, and Banana Split Cake.  Lest night I […]

Leave a Reply

