Punkin Bed

24 Jun

That’s how my son says Pumpkin Bread…only he adds a Steven Tyler-esque inflection on the last part of “bread.”  It makes me laugh every time.  When I told him we were making it, it was all he kept saying all evening.  I love seeing his face light up when I tell him he gets to “help mommy cook.”  He pushes his chair up to the counter, but not in front of the stove…”hasst” (hot).  He enjoys using his very own whisk and spatula, both of which have animals on the handles.

He did well mixing the dry ingredients and just a bit spilled over onto the counter.  In fact, I think I would have normally spilled more!

He was too focused to even care about the camera

Festive Pumpkin Bread

  • 1/2 cup veggie oil
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 cup mashed & cooked pumpkin (I used canned)
  • 1 & 2/3 cup self-rising flour**
  • 1.25 cups sugar
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg (I don’t like nutmeg and used cloves instead)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • (optional) 1/2 cup chopped candied cherries…uhhh…NO! 😉

Combine wet ingredients in a bowl and set aside.  Combine dry ingredients, except for pecans; add to pumpkin mixture; beat until smooth.  fold in pecans (and cherries).  Spoon into a greased and floured loaf pan (9x5x3).  Bake at 350* for 1-hour or until done.

**Don’t have self-rising flour?  Make some!  for every cup of flour, add 1.25 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt.  Since this recipe called for almost 2 cups of flour, I made two cups of “self-rising” and then measured out what I needed.

Grandma’s Notes: 6/19/93-Anthony & Marcus ate supper with me.  Frank called; talked an hour.  6/24/93- Haley is going to Georgia for a week.  Cut out a quilt block; pieced it.  Bro. Don Jones (W/Mrs. Jones and Angie) came and visited.  THANK YOU FOR BEING WITH ME ON MY TRIP ALONE TO SHREVEPORT TO THE DOCTOR.  HELP ME CONCENTRATE ON BEING MORE LIKE YOU.

Leave a Reply

