Veggies all around!

5 Jul

So, in one of my last posts, I mentioned that I was trying to limit my intake of non-vegetarian foods.  I even ate vegan for the better part of two weeks.  Not for moral “save-the-animals” reasons, but rather for healthy “these-are-the-foods-we-were-made-for” reasons.  I wish I could say that I have been as diligent this last week or so, but life happens.  However, I could definitely tell a difference when I ate things I had not been eating.

That’s beside the point.  Today’s post is my own take on sharing Grandma’s recipes.  Ask my aunt if she has a recipe for a dessert or a side dish, and she will oblige.  Had you asked Grandma for the same, she would also have given you a good recipe.  Now, I hope, I can be the bearer of similar information if need be.  So, I’ll give you three…yes, THREE, recipes that can easily be vegetarian, vegan, or even “meat-itarian.”

 

Peppers and Onions

  • 1 pkg mini peppers (orange, yellow, and red)
  • 1/2 med yellow onion, sliced thin
  • optional: jasmine rice, eggs, soy sauce, etc

I sautéed the veggies in a small amount of olive oil and then served it with jasmine rice.  The next day I made an omelet and added some of the mix.  The last day, I made fried rice with the peppers, eggs, soy sauce and remaining rice.

 

Oven Roasted Potatoes

  • 2-3 small white potatoes, sliced as you like (I diced them like hash browns)
  • 1 pkg of taco seasoning, ranch dressing mix, or your favorite seasonings
  • olive oil

Place cut potatoes on a roasting pan or casserole dish (just make sure they are one layer).  Drizzle with olive oil and then sprinkle seasonings on potatoes, coating evenly.  Bake at 350-400* for 20-25 minutes, or until browned.  You may want to line your pan with foil or spray with non-stick spray.

 

Mango Salsa

  • 1-2 ripe mangoes, diced
  • 3-4 green onions, chopped finely
  • 1 med tomato, diced or chopped coarsely

Mix all ingredients and add a dash of salt, to taste.  This has got to be one of my most colorful recipes to date.  You can add a peach to the mix, or substitute it for the mango all together also.

How pretty are those colors?!

 

Amber’s Notes: “So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” 1 Corinthians 10:31

 

 

Leave a Reply

