When life hands you lemons…

27 Jul

…you make lemonade, or margaritas, or take shots of tequila.  However, when you don’t have lemons but your son wants to help you bake something, you improvise.  In order for me to get back into the swing of making things, I needed something simple- something that didn’t require me getting back into my car and going to the store in the 10000000% humidity that is a Florida summer.

Enter Lemon Bread.  This recipe could easily be made into lemon-poppy-seed, lemon-nut (which is what this one called for but I had no nuts), or even a Lemon-Berry…think: Sonic Lemon-berry slush in bread form…oooh!  But I digress.  This recipe was relatively quick to prepare, but did take a solid 80 minutes to bake through.

Lemon Bread

  • 3/4 cup margarine
  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2.25 cups sifted flour (I didn’t sift and I only had 2 cups, the last 1/4 I used whole wheat flour)
  • 1/4 tsp soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk vanilla almond milk (unsweetened)
  • Grated rind of one lemon 1 tsp lemon extract
  • 3/4 cup chopped nuts I didn’t have any, and hubs doesn’t like citrus or nuts.  So I figured it was one or the other for him to even try it
  • For the Glaze: Juice of two lemons 2 TBSP lemon juice in 3/4 cup sugar (dissolved)

Preheat oven to 325* and grease and flour a corningware glass ceramic loaf dish 9x5x3 (2-qt size). I only have a metal loaf pan, it worked fine.  Cream margarine and sugar; beat in eggs.  Sift dry ingredients together and add to batter, alternating with milk.  Mix well.  Stir in lemon extract (and nuts here).  Pout into prepared dish and bake at 325* for 1 hr 20 min, or until cake tester (aka toothpick in our house) inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool 15 minutes in dish.  Remove from dish and cool completely on wire rack.  Pierce in many places and spoon glaze over it.

The little corner cut out was for the boy.  Now, this glaze that was supposed to be all glazy and everything, was not a glaze at all.  It ended up being more like sugar mixed in lemon juice.  I’m not really sure how you would be able to dissolve 3/4 cup of sugar in the juice of 2 lemons.  From what I remember regarding juicing fruits, you never get as much juice as you want.  So, I figured using 2 TBSP of lemon juice from the fridge would help…it didn’t.  Now don’t get me wrong, though, the taste is amazing!  Just not so glazy.  And, when I went to cut a slice this morning, the sugar had formed a sort of crystallized force-field on top of the bread (kind of like a royal icing on a cookie).  It’s crunchy, but not hard, and the lemon flavor is spot-on.

 

Grandma’s Notes: 7/25/93- Meeting Frank in Van.  April is coming to visit.  Enjoyed visiting with Frank’s family.  Sunday, April sang “Do Lord” and a little worship chorus at church.  In the evening service Ashley and April sang “In the Garden.”  I THANK YOU LORD, YOU ARE THE ONE AND ONLY GOD; HELP ME IN MY COMMITMENT TO YOU.

 

 

Leave a Reply

