No Eggs? No Problem!

19 Aug

Necessity is the mother of all altered recipes, I’ve learned.  As I have stated before, I am lazy.  I enjoy baking and cooking new things, but HATE to have to leave the house to get anything I’m out of.  Case-in-point, yesterday the boys were napping (as they are now) and I couldn’t sleep because the little boy had his feet in my face and the big boy was snoring.  So, I figured I would make something.  I looked in the pantry and saw we had oatmeal, I knew I had just purchased flour, chocolate-chip oatmeal cookies it was.  I even got so far as to mix the dry ingredients and add in the milk (almond in this house), after creaming butter and sugar, when I realized I didn’t have any eggs.  I know, I know, how could I be so lazy as to not even have eggs.  Believe me, I have gotten numerous scoldings from my baker-sister regarding a lack of stocking my pantry with basics.  THAT is a whole other post, though.
Anyway, I thought, “You need to use your Almond Milk before it goes bad so just add a bit more to the mix.”  Seemed like a substantial thought at the time.  So, I did.  This is what turned out:

Look good, huh?!  My son woke up from his nap, just in time to see the m&ms and was more than excited.  I even had the second half of the batch, uncooked, in the bowl.  With no eggs, I had no problems letting him taste a big ol’ spoonful of the concoction.  The reaction?  “MMMMMMM!”  Now, if that doesn’t say they are good, I don’t know what does.  The texture is obviously different from traditional oatmeal cookies, but by using the almond milk I almost made a sort of oatmeal cookie bar.  I can’t explain it, you would just have to try it!

With no further ado:

Amber’s No-Egg Oatmeal Chocolate Cookies

  • 1/4 cup butter, margarine or butter substitute (for my vegan buds)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (THIS is our favorite brand)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2/3 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 cups quick cook oats
  • 1 cup chocolate chips, m&ms, or carob pieces

Cream butter and sugars, stir in milk and vanilla until mixed well.  Add dry ingredients,  except for oats and chocolate, until incorporated well.  Stir in oats and chocolate.  Spoon heaping TBSP onto parchment lined cookie sheets and bake at 350* for approximately 12 minutes.  Cookies should cool a couple minutes before removing them from the cookie sheet.  Transfer to wire rack and let cool completely.  Cookies will “firm up” upon cooling.  Store in airtight container.  Yield: 1.5 doz cookies

 

 

Leave a Reply

