Feliz Navidad!

17 Dec

I’m putting off doing my Christmas meal shopping, kind of.  It’s just going to take me actually writing down a list of what I need and then going to the store to get everything.  Until then, however, I still need to feed our family in the days leading up to Christmas.  So, when I went out today, I made sure to grab some tortillas, enchilada sauce, and shredded cheese.  In my prior trips to the grocer I managed to stock up on chicken broth and onions, along with some evaporated milk.  I was set!

Mexican  Chicken Casserole

  • 2 cups cubed, cooked chicken
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1 can (10-15 oz) enchilada sauce (mild or hot)
  • 1 can (5 oz) evaporated milk
  • 12 corn tortillas (I bought flour by accident…they taste good but get pretty mushy)
  • 1 lb grated cheese
  • 1 cup chopped green chilies (I wish I had my hatch chilies for this)
  • 1 medium onion chopped

Combine chicken broth with enchilada sauce and milk.  Layer half the tortillas in a 9×13 casserole dish.  Top with chicken, 3/4 cheese, chilies and onions.  Add remaining tortillas and cheese.  Pour sauce mixture over casserole and bake for one hour at 350.   Side note: when you pour the sauce over the top, the cheese tends to “migrate,” so pour slowly!

photo(2)

Grandma’s Notes: 12/15/91- White frost.  Marcus came home with me after church.  He’s watching football game while I fix lunch.  We ate in front of the TV.  He went to George’s after lunch,  Haley came by- took me to choir practice.  She’s spending the night.  I THANK YOU LORD THAT YOUR FAMILY SPREADS TO MANY PARTS OF THE WORLD.  THANK YOU LORD THAT I AM PART OF IT.

 

Leave a Reply

