Banana Jasmine Rice Pudding

8 Jan

We had Frito Pie last night for dinner. If you aren’t familiar with that, you’ve probably never been a Texan or been in the general vicinity of a Texan. But that’s pseudo-forgivable and the recipe is super easy. Take Fritos and put chili and shredded cheese on top. Now, some places will try to peddle you some rubbish about jalapeños, onions, or olives on top of these “pies.” They, my friend, are smoking the proverbial crack. This is a simple dish, easy, and tasty. That’s all.

With all that said, I wanted a little more substance with my bowl, so I decided to make a bag of rice. Yes, bag. As in boil-in-the-bag rice. Thank you, Uncle Ben, for taking the head work out of rice. Well, once the rice was done, I realized that no one else would want rice in their dish. But they would eat pudding made from the rice. So began a search for easy rice pudding.

I grabbed the first recipe I found, but needed to make alterations to it because I either didn’t have the ingredients or didn’t want to use them.

So, enjoy this rice pudding. I also included alternative ingredients to suit your dietary whims.

Banana Jasmine Rice Puddin
• 1 bag, cooked, of boil-in-bag jasmine rice
• Approx. 1.75 cups almond milk
• 3/4 cup granulated sugar (I’d even cut that back to 1/3 or 1/2 cup because of the banana)
• 1 Tbsp. vanilla extract
• ***optional 1egg yolk for a more “sturdy” pudding, but tempering it is a pain***
• 2 Tbsp. butter/margarine/butter substitute
• 1 banana chopped or mashed
• ½ tsp. salt

Bring to a boil the rice, sugar, milk and vanilla. Lower to a simmer 25 min., stirring occasionally every 3-4 minutes. Add mashed bananas, salt, and butter (& egg) and cook 2 min more. Let set in fridge.

We topped ours with whipped cream, but you could sprinkle a little brown sugar, cinnamon, or chopped nuts on top. I had a serving this morning for breakfast, but I was a little overwhelmed by the banana flavor and the overtly sweet nature of the entire thing. Next time I’ll cut back the sugar (as I noted above) and I might even cut the banana in half. But it was good nonetheless.

Grandma’s notes: this was not one of her recipes, but I think she’d have made it and it would have been perfect warm, on a cold, rainy day.

20140108-160411.jpg

Leave a Reply

