My name is mud

13 May

Every other week a few girlfriends of mine  and I have a ladies night. We meet at someone’s house and usually there is a theme of sorts: Mexican/margaritas, Italian, we even had a Leonardo DiCaprio night after the oscars. However, over the last month or so, we’ve all had a TON of things going on. Trips to other states, doctoral graduation (me!), weird school schedules, and the end of the school year for our children. 

So tomorrow we are putting together an impromptu gathering at the home of the ravishing Kelsea (whose eyebrows are always amazing). She’s doing a flank steak and we are all to bring stuff to go with it. The main difference with this gathering is that kids are welcomed. Usually we just meet with the ladies, but we changed it up a bit. 

Anyway, my son decided we should take a cake. Not just any cake either…a Mississippi Mud Cake. Basically it’s a cake version of rocky road ice cream: chocolate, nuts, marshmallows. Once he decided on the cake, he thought we should make them into cupcake form. 

So, we gathered what we needed and proceeded to do a live Facebook broadcast while we made it. What a blast! 

While talking to our viewers, a few folks wanted the recipe. So I came here and did a search and couldn’t find that I had it. So…a new blog post it is. 🙂

This cake is amazing. It was the cake my grandma made for all three boys for their grooms cakes and it was a common go-to for many family gatherings. In other words, a great cake.

And I’m going to be lazy and post a photo of the recipe, instead of typing it out. While making these tonight, I squatted down to look in the oven and my favorite jeans split at the butt. I was over being an adult after that. Ha ha. 

Once these cooled, we tried one. They were perfect! 

To make these as cupcakes, bake for 10-12 minutes and then check them. I did so by lightly touching the tops to see how springy they were. I decided to turn the oven off and leave them in another couple of minutes before adding the marshmallows. All you really need to do is make sure you don’t wait until they are all the way done. 

I tried to get a photo, there was only one tiny bite left. 


How yummy do these look?!?

3 Responses to “My name is mud”

  1. fretspan May 14, 2016 at 9:28 am #

    You did your Grandma proud! Those cupcakes look absolutely amazing!

    I know she’s in heaven now talking Jesus into getting more cupcake pans so she can do the ‘switch’…cause, there’s a line a mile long outside her mansion. They’re all clamoring for some Mississippi Mud cupcakes and Saint Peter is leading the way!!

    • hort7830 May 14, 2016 at 10:02 am #

      You know that’s right! I bet heavenly marshmallows are divine!

  2. singlemomconquers August 26, 2016 at 10:15 am #

    Oh wow those look delightful! And how cool are the tidbits of journaling within the recipe! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

